Link to our Facebook Page
Link to our Twitter Page
Link to our Pinterest Page
Link to our Flickr Page
Link to our Youtube Page

Thriller Award


The Thriller Awards are a relatively new award, having first been presented in 2006. They are selected by the membership of The International Thriller Writers, an organization of writers first established in 2005, at their annual convention, ThrillerFest. In its first years, the Thriller Awards have been presented in the categories of Best Novel, Best First Novel, Best Paperback Original and Best Screenplay. This list includes the winners in all of these categories, with the books linked to the library’s catalog (in cases where the Lincoln City Libraries owns those titles), and the screenplays linked to that film’s entry in the Internet Movie Database. Additional information about all of the categories, including each year’s finalists/nominees, can be found at this Thriller Awards page on the ITW site.

Thriller Award Winners for Best Novel

Book Cover2016
Ian Caldwell
The Fifth Gospel

Book Cover2015
Megan Abbott
The Fever

Book Cover2014 
Andrew Pyper
The Demonologist

book cover2013 
Brian Freeman
Spilled Blood

book cover2012 
Stephen King

book cover2011 
John Sandford
Bad Blood

book cover2010 
Lisa Gardner
The Neighbor

Book Cover2009 
Jeffery Deaver
The Bodies Left Behind

Book Cover2008 
Robert Harris
The Ghost

Book Cover2007 
Joseph Finder
Killer Instinct

Book Cover2006 
Christopher Reich
The Patriot’s Club

Thriller Award Winners for Best First Novel

Book Cover2016
Brian Panowich
Bull Mountain

Book Cover2015
Laura McHugh
The Weight of Blood

Book Cover2014 
Jason Matthews

Book Cover2013 
Matthew Quirk
The 500

Book Cover2012 
Paul McEuen

Book Cover2011 
Chevy Stevens
Still Missing

Jamie Freveletti
Running From the Devil

Book Cover2009 
Tom Rob Smith
Child 44

Book Cover2008 
Joe Hill
Heart-Shaped Box

Nick Stone
Mr. Clarinet

Adam Fawer

Thriller Award Winners for Best Paperback Original

John Gilstrap
Against All Enemies

Vincent Zandri
Moonlight Weeps

Book Cover2014 
Jennifer McMahon
The One I Left Behind

Book Cover2013 
Sean Doolittle
Lake Country

Book Cover2012 
Jeff Abbott
The Last Minute

Book Cover2011 
J.T. Ellison
The Cold Room

Tom Piccirilli
The Coldest Mile

Tom Piccirilli
The Midnight Road

P.J. Parrish
An Unquiet Grave

Book Cover2006 
R. Cameron Cooke
Pride Runs Deep

Thriller Award Winners for Best Screenplay

Eric Roth
The Good Shepherd

Michael Haneke
Cache (Hidden)

Thriller Award Winners for Best Short Story

Joyce Carol Oates
“Gun Accident: An Investigation” in Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine

Tim L. Williams
“The Last Wrestling Bear in West Kentucky” in Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine

Twist Phalen
“Footprints in War” in Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine

John Rector
“Lost Things” in Amazon Kindle Single

Richard Helms
“The Gods for Vengeance Cry” in the November 2010 Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine

Twist Phelan
“A Stab in the Heart” in Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine

Book Cover2009 
Alexandra Sokoloff
“The Edge of Seventeen” in anthology The Darker Mask

Last Updated December 2016 sdc