Link to our Facebook Page
Link to our Twitter Page
Link to our Pinterest Page
Link to our Flickr Page
Link to our Youtube Page

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews – Current Year

bgsubmitrev3

Click here to submit your own review!


Here are the latest reviews submitted by visitors to the BookGuide pages:

The Cat Who Came In Off the Roof
by Annie Schmid/strong>

Tibbles is so timid that he spends his time reporting about cats and nature, instead of about people. He’s at risk of losing his job, when he meets a lady who can talk to cats because was once had been one. She tells him all the gossip around town, including some secret news, and he writes it up for the paper. Suddenly he’s a star. And she has a home. Except nothing can ever stay perfect. There’s a bad guy, a quirky neighbor, a pregnant cat, and…. Next thing you know Tibbles is in trouble.

revscore10

reviewed by Allison H.-F.
customer of the Bennett Martin Public Library
June 29, 2017

Domino
by Ellen Miles

Domino is a title in the Kitty Corner series. Siblings Michael and Mia would like to have a cat of their own, but for now they foster. And their latest foster is a kitten found on a ski slope. The less than 100-page chapter book switches viewpoints between the siblings and Domino, and makes for light-reading. Although the books are formulaic, they’re also cute and true to a kids’ world, and could turn reluctant readers into avid ones.

revscore6

reviewed by Allison H.-F.
customer of the Bennett Martin Public Library
June 29, 2017

Trapped
by Peg Kehret

Pete is a highly unusual cat that likes to help his owner Alex solve mysteries. Pete also likes to help author, Peg Kehret, tell his story. One thing I dislike is the villain is one-dimensional. The bad guy not only traps illegally, but he also is slovenly in appearance, drives reckless, and isn’t above threatening violence to animals and people. Despite my wishing the Kehret would create complex villains, I enjoy her main characters and her passion for animals.

revscore6

reviewed by Allison H.-F.
customer of the Bennett Martin Public Library
June 29, 2017

Little Bo
by Julie Andrews Edwards

I love the full-page paintings which open each chapter, and the charming illustrations of the kittens. I also enjoy the story of sweet Bo, who seems to be the only survivor of her siblings. The structured side of me would have preferred Andrews to jump straight into Bo’s story OR to have followed the adventures of her siblings too. That little nitpicking aside, the story is a throwback to days of children’s literary anthologies. It’s full of strong-will characters, unique settings, and adventure.

revscore8

reviewed by Allison H.-F.
customer of the Bennett Martin Public Library
June 29, 2017

The Book of Joe
by Vincent Price [electronic formats only]

For dog lovers, The Book of Joe is quirky little book with lots of personality. It’s written by Vincent Price of Hollywood fame who starred as a villain in dozens of macabre horror films. Far from being scary, however, The Book of Joe is a light-hearted and humorous account of Price’s life with pets. Not all is perfect about this unusual and touching book with a dog death, frequent digressions, and mature content. Yet it makes a quick and entertaining read for older pet lovers.

revscore7

reviewed by Allison H.-F.
customer of the Bennett Martin Public Library
May 20, 2017

Extraordinary
by Miriam Spitzer Franklin [ebook format only]

A delightful debut novel about friendship! The main character of Pansy, who is quiet and fearful but also exuberant and determined, won my affection. I also admire the author for creating a sweet but realistic story about disabilities. Just as what lies at the end of Pansy’s year isn’t exactly what she had expected, so I too was surprised at plot twists in Extra Ordinary, and both are good things. Despite minor flaws, the book reminds me of why I’m such a fan of children’s literature!.

revscore9

reviewed by Allison H.-F.
customer of the Bennett Martin Public Library
May 20, 2017

Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are?
by Frans de Waal [591.513 Waa]

While the content proved heavy reading for an unscientific person like myself, Waal did give me renewed respect for animals. It also inspired several conversations between my husband and me: What might happen if society were to view animals as smart as humans, but just in different ways. Would we casually destroy the homes of wild animals? Would we inhumanely treat farm animals? Would we easily view domesticated animals as disposable? The implications are endless, making this an important read.

revscore7

reviewed by Allison H.-F.
customer of the Bennett Martin Public Library
May 20, 2017

The Distance Between Us
by Reyna Grande [downloadable audio format only]

This memoir weaves the universal story of a family’s resolve to reach their goal against all odds. By the same token, her memoir raises the question of how much should one be willing to sacrifice to obtain the impossible dream? Her memoir also makes clear how arduous the road to a better life can be, while at times also offering hope and inspiration. Her memoir tells a story as much about poverty as it does immigration, and should serve as encouragement to press on when life gets tough.

revscore9

reviewed by Allison H.-F.
customer of the Bennett Martin Public Library
May 20, 2017


Here are the past reviews in our archive:

Master Index to all Customer Reviews through 2014

2014 Customer Reviews
2013 Customer Reviews
2012 Customer Reviews
2011 Customer Reviews
2010 Customer Reviews
2009 Customer Reviews
2008 Customer Reviews
2007 Customer Reviews
2006 Customer Reviews
2005 Customer Reviews

Save

Save

Save

Save