Link to our Facebook Page
Link to our Twitter Page
Link to our Pinterest Page
Link to our Flickr Page
Link to our Youtube Page

Customer Reviews – 2010

bgsubmitrev3

Click here to submit your own review!

See index of all past Customer Reviews


2010 Customer Reviews

angelsgameThe Angel’s Game
by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

In early 20th century Barcelona writer David Martin embarks on a series of writing assignments, one of which will bring him close to madness and suicide. Martin’s chosen to live in a particular house, but he fears he’s becoming the previous tenant, who killed himself. That, mixed with several storylines of writers and writing, books, friendship, unrequited love and the business of publishing kept me reading to the last page. Not an easy beach read, but well worth the effort.

revscore9

reviewed by Barbara R.
patron of Gere Branch Library
October 8, 2010

foodrulesFood Rules: An Eater’s Manual
by Michael Pollan [613.2 Pol]

I have seen interviews with Michael Pollan and one was on this book. It really makes you think about what you are eating. The point that sticks out to me is: You shouldn’t eat anything that your Great-Grandmother (or Grandmother) wouldn’t know how to eat, ie. GoGurt). I have seen a couple of his movies, Food Inc. and King Corn.

revscore9

reviewed by Nicole B.
patron of Gere Branch Library
July 8, 2010

girlwhoplayedwithfireThe Girl Who Played With Fire
by Stieg Larsson

I almost returned this unfinished because I just couldn’t get involved in it. Luckily I persisted and really enjoyed the 2nd half, reading at a blistering speed. It will make a great movie, but unfortunately will probably not get into the characters points of view. So many characters with bewildering Scandinavian names. Just shows how important even a characters name is to help a reader focus. I should have read the 1st book in the series first but it just wasn’t on the shelf and I wanted to get started NOW. Now I am going to see the “…Tattoo…” movie at Ross. I love non-American centric pieces!

revscore8

reviewed by Vera G.
patron of Gere Branch Library
July 6, 2010

honeymoonThe Honeymoon
by James Patterson and Howard Roughan

This book makes a great summer beach read. It has suspense, romance, and lots of twists & turns! Once I started reading the book I had a hard time putting it down. It keeps you on the edge of your seat and keeps you guessing as to what will happen next. James Patterson has outdone himself with this one!!!

revscore10

reviewed by Mistie P.
patron of Anderson and Bethany Branch Libraries
June 29, 2010

darkestpassionDarkest Passion
by Gena Showalter

Not my favorite of the series. It was a little slow to start but overall I enjoyed it.

revscore7

reviewed by Elizabeth M.
patron of Eiseley Branch Library
June 20, 2010

girlwiththedragontattooThe Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
by Stieg Larsson

The girl with the dragon tattoo is Lisbeth Salander, one of the most unique and memorable characters I can recall. A master hacker, she can get into anyone’s computer, anytime, to get anything she wants. When journalist Mikael Blomkvist takes on a mystery involving a missing girl, Lisbeth is assigned to help. The first of a trilogy, you will hear more about this book and the series in the months to come. Caution: it’s not for everyone because of its dark nature. “USA Today” said, “Imagine the movies of Ingmar Bergman crossed with Thomas Harris’s novel The Silence of the Lambs. Sounds about right to me.

revscore9

reviewed by Barbara R.
patron of Gere Branch Library
May 16, 2010

There’s a reason the wait is so long to get this book! It’s an exciting read with amazing characters and the sequels are just as exciting!

revscore9

reviewed by Jessica H.
patron of the BookGuide web site
June 20, 2010

This book was painful for me to read…at least the first 200 pages were. It was so boring, I almost gave up. However; I really wanted to read it as did my book club, so I persisted. After an unusual and astounding 3 weeks I finally finished it. Humbled by my original opinion, I am happy to say that it was a great read in the end.

revscore9

reviewed by S.
patron of the Walt Branch Library
December 9, 2010

twilightTwilight
by Stephenie Meyer

This was an easy read that kept my attention easily. I found it very difficult to put the book down and was able to read it in 2 days (I don’t read that fast usually). The story line wasn’t a sappy love story. It was a love story with some excitement and action. A great novel that I will read again!

revscore9

reviewed by Elizabeth M.
patron of Eiseley Branch Library
June 16, 2010

raisethetitanicRaise the Titanic
by Clive Cussler

Knowing that the hero’s name is Dirk Pitt should tell you something about this over-the-top-but-still-enjoyable thriller. The U.S. has a need for a mineral called byzantium and the only supply of it is rumored to lie in the hold of the Titanic. Getting to that point is most of the fun, but Russian spies, beautiful wives, politics and submersives all play a part in the unwinding of the plot. Don’t think too hard and just enjoy the ride.

revscore7

reviewed by Barbara R.
patron of Gere Branch Library
June 6, 2010

calpurniatateThe Evolution of Calpurnia Tate
by Jacqueline Kelly

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate is a coming of age story about a girl with 6 brothers set in the late 1800’s. Calpurnia is smack in the middle of the boys and is expected to become a lady someday by stitching and cooking and other domestic necessities. However, one summer, Calpurnia and her inquisitive mind approaches the Grandfather she has never really gotten to know and her life is changed. She becomes immersed in the world of natural science that surrounds her. Lovely story!

revscore10

reviewed by Kris J.
patron of the Anderson and Bethany Branch Libraries
March 7, 2010

stillaliceStill Alice
by Lisa Genova

Still Alice is a fictional account of a woman’s life with early onset Alzheimer’s disease. A respected Harvard professor of cognitive psychology, Alice learns of her disease after keeping track of her daily life on to-do lists doesn’t keep her from forgetting things. This is really a scary and sad read if you know someone with this disease or not. Make sure you have tissues!

revscore10

reviewed by Kris J.
patron of the Anderson and Bethany Branch Libraries
January 13, 2010