Link to our Facebook Page
Link to our Twitter Page
Link to our Pinterest Page
Link to our Flickr Page
Link to our Youtube Page

Gone Girl

If You Like “Gone Girl”…
Try These Authors/Titles

gonegirlGillian Flynn’s 2012 novel, Gone Girl, was a major international bestseller — eclipsed in popularity the year of its release only by the 50 Shades of Grey phenomenon. A taut psychological thriller, the novel explores the truths and lies inherent in longterm relationships, as the young wife (Amy) in an increasingly disfunctional marriage disappears and the husband (Nick) becomes a suspect in the mystery of what happened to her. Set in a small southern community, one of the novel’s other major themes is the function of unreliable narrators — much of the story is told in first person narrative by either Nick or Amy (through found diary entries), but each provides a seriously different impression of the other than what the reader would get from reading a single perspective. These narratives are also later revealed to be seriously flawed, or intentionally misleading. Nick has a complicated relationship with his twin sister, which adds additional layers to the storyline The characters are coping with a severely downturned economy, with both Nick and Amy leaving jobs where they were writers in New York City in order to try to make a living as bar owners in his small hometown.Ultimately, Gone Girl is a tense look at a disintegrating, troubled relationship, multiple layers of lies and thwarted expectations. The novel has been adapted into a feature film, which was released in theatres in October 2014.

The following books share similar traits with Gone Girl, either in terms of plot, tone or style. None are exactly note-for-note like Flynn’s novel — most critics recommend reading Flynn’s other works, too — but if you liked Gone Girl, you may appreciate many of the other books on this list! The author names (and titles) in the list below are hotlinked to their holdings in our catalog, so that you may check on the availability of their titles in print, audio or downloadable formats.

Gillian Flynn’s other novels

sharp objectsSharp Objects
or other titles by Gillian Flynn


dark placesDark Places
or other titles by Gillian Flynn


Readalikes to “Gone Girl” (alphabetical order by author)

dare meDare Me
or other titles by Megan Abbott


carry the oneCarry the One
or other titles by Carol Anshaw


the accidentThe Accident
or other titles by Linwood Barclay


shining girlsThe Shining Girls
or other titles by Lauren Beukes


save yourselfSave Yourself
or other titles by Kelly Braffet


don't try to find meDon’t Try to Find Me
or other titles by Holly Brown


the bearThe Bear
or other titles by Claire Cameron


noimageAlice Close Your Eyes
or other titles by Averil Dean


apple tree yardApple Tree Yard
or other titles by Louise Doughty


carthweelCartwheel
or other titles by Jennifer DuBois


waiting for wednesdayWaiting for Wednesday
or other titles by Nicci French


in the woodsIn the Woods
or other titles by Tana French


reliable wifeA Reliable Wife
or other titles by Robert Goolrick


claire dewitt and the city of the deadClaire Dewitt and the City of the Dead
or other titles by Sara Gran


other woman's houseThe Other Woman’s House
or other titles by Sophie Hannah


the silent wifeThe Silent Wife
or other titles by A.S.A. Harrison


under a silent moonUnder a Silent Moon
or other titles by Elizabeth Haynes


what was she thinkingWhat Was She Thinking? (Notes on a Scandal)
or other titles by Zoe Heller


carrieCarrie
or other titles by Stephen King


poisonwood bibleThe Poisonwood Bible
or other titles by Barbara Kingsolver


the good girlThe Good Girl
or other titles by Mary Kubica


i know this much is trueI Know This Much is True
or other titles by Wally Lamb


defending jacobDefending Jacob
or other titles by William Landay


i'd know you anywhereI’d Know You Anywhere
or other titles by Laura Lippman


dear daughterDear Daughter
or other titles by Elizabeth Little


reconstructing ameliaReconstructing Amelia
or other titles by Kimberly McCreight


eye contactEye Contact
or other titles by Cammie McGovern


dead hourDead Hour
or other titles by Denise Mina


darling jimDarling Jim
or other titles by Christian Moerk


big little liesBig Little Lies
or other titles by Liane Moriarty


the expatsThe Expats
or other titles by Chris Pavone


invisible onesThe Invisible Ones
or other titles by Stef Penney


house rulesHouse Rules
or other titles by Jodi Picoult


visitation streetVisitation Street
or other titles by Ivy Pochoda


bury thisBury This
or other titles by Andrea Portes


the black hourThe Black Hour
or other titles by Lori Rader-Day


valley of ashesValley of Ashes
or other titles by Cornelia Read


we need to talk about kevinWe Need to Talk About Kevin
or other titles by Lionel Shriver


the farmThe Farm
or other titles by Tom Rob Smith


die for youDie for You
or other titles by Lisa Unger


innocent victimsInnocent Victims
or other titles by Minette Walters


before i go to sleepBefore I Go to Sleep
or other titles by S.J. Watson


the callingThe Calling
or other titles by Inger Ash Wolfe

last updated September 2014 sdc

Save