Return to the main BookGuide page
Connect to the main Lincoln City Libraries Web site!
National Book Critics Circle Awards

This award recognizes what the National Book Critics Circle considers the best book published by an American author each year. Awards are given in five categories: fiction, poetry, biography/autobiography, general nonfiction and criticism. Winning titles are determined by vote of the Critics Circle Board from suggestions received by the members and have been awarded annually since 1976. (The year given is the year of publication; awards are presented the following year.) In the brief history of this award, E.L. Doctorow has won it three times, and John Updike and Stanley Elkin (who died in 1995) have won it twice. You can read more about the NBCC Awards, and see the winners in categories other than "Fiction" at the National Book Critics Circle official home page.

2013  Chimimanda Agozi Adichie Americanah
2012  Ben Fountain Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk
2011  Edith Pearlman Binocular Vision: New and Selected Stories
2010  Jennifer Egan A Visit From the Goon Squad
2009  Hilary Mantel Wolf Hall
2008  Roberto Bolano 2666
2007  Junot Diaz The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
2006  Kiran Desai The Inheritance of Loss
2005  E.L. Doctorow The March
2004  Marilynne Robinson Gilead
2003  Edward P. Jones The Known World
2002  Ian McEwan Atonement
2001  W.G. Sebald Austerlitz
2000  Jim Crace Being Dead
1999  Jonathan Lethem Motherless Brooklyn
1998  Alice Munro The Love of a Good Woman
1997  Penelope Fitzgerald The Blue Flower
1996  Gina Berriault Women in Their Beds
1995  Stanley Elkin Mrs. Ted Bliss (awarded posthumously)
1994  Carol Shields The Stone Diaries
1993  Ernest J. Gaines A Lesson Before Dying
1992  Cormac McCarthy All the Pretty Horses
1991  Jane Smiley A Thousand Acres
1990  John Updike Rabbit at Rest
1989  E.L. Doctorow Billy Bathgate
1988  Bharati Mukherjee The Middleman and Other Stories
1987  Philip Roth The Counterlife
1986  Reynolds Price Kate Vaiden
1985  Anne Tyler The Accidental Tourist
1984  Louise Erdrich Love Medicine
1983  William Kennedy Ironweed
1982  Stanley Elkin George Mills
1981  John Updike Rabbit is Rich
1980  Shirley Hazzard The Transit of Venus
1979  Thomas Flanagan The Year of the French
1978  John Cheever The Stories of John Cheever
1977  Toni Morrison Song of Solomon
1976  John Gardner October Light
1975  E.L. Doctorow Ragtime

Updated August 2014 sdc

Looking for additional novels on this or other subjects? Try out the NoveList database!

Connect to the main Lincoln City Libraries Web site!