Return to the main BookGuide page
Connect to the main Lincoln City Libraries Web site!
PEN/Faulkner Award banner

Named for William Faulkner, who used his Nobel Prize funds to create an award for young writers, and affiliated with PEN (Poets, Playwrights, Editors, Essayists and Novelists), the international writers' organization, the PEN/Faulkner Award was founded by writers in 1980 to honor their peers. The award judges -- working fiction writers all -- each read approximately 300 novels and short story collections to select a winner and four nominees. The winner, or "first among equals," receives $15,000; each of the others receives $5,000, making PEN/Faulkner the largest juried award for fiction in the United States.

For more information, and to see a list of the other nominees for each year, please visit the Official PEN/Faulkner Award Web site. All books owned by Lincoln City Libraries are hotlinked to their entries in our library catalog, so that you may check on their current availability. If you see a title on this list that is not hotlinked to our collection, please consider ordering it through our Interlibrary Loan department.

PEN/Faulkner Award Winners for Best Novel

2014  Book Cover  Karen Joy Fowler
We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves
2013  Book Cover  Benjamin Alire Senz
Everything Begins & Ends at the Kentucky Club
2012  Book Cover  Julie Otsuka
The Buddha in the Attic
2011  Book Cover  Deborah Eisenberg
The Collected Stories of Deborah Eisenberg
2010  Book Cover  Sherman Alexie
War Dances
2009  Book Cover  Joseph O'Neill
2008  Book Cover  Kate Christensen
The Great Man
2007  Book Cover  Philip Roth
2006  Book Cover  E.L. Doctorow
The March
2005  Book Cover  Ha Jin
War Trash
2004  Book Cover  John Updike
The Early Stories
2003  Book Cover  Sabina Murray
The Caprices
2002  Book Cover  Ann Patchett
Bel Canto
2001  Book Cover  Philip Roth
The Human Stain
2000  Book Cover  Ha Jin
1999  Book Cover  Michael Cunningham
The Hours
1998  Book Cover  Rafi Zabor
The Bear Comes Home
1997  Book Cover  Gina Berriault
Women in Their Beds: New and Selected Stories
1996  Book Cover  Richard Ford
Independence Day
1995  Book Cover  David Guterson
Snow Falling on Cedars
1994  Book Cover  Philip Roth
Operation Shylock: A Confession
1993  Book Cover  E. Annie Proulx
1992  Book Cover  Don DeLillo
Mao II
1991  Book Cover  John Edgar Wideman
Philadelphia Fire
1990  Book Cover  E.L. Doctorow
Billy Bathgate
1989  Book Cover  James Salter
Dusk: and Other Stories
1988  Book Cover  T. Coraghessan Boyle
World's End
1987  Book Cover  Richard Wiley
Soldiers in Hiding
1986  Book Cover  Peter Taylor
The Old Forest
1985  Book Cover  Tobias Wolff
The Barracks Thief
1984  Book Cover  John Edgar Wideman
Sent For You Yesterday
1983  Book Cover  Toby Olson
1982  Book Cover  David Bradley
The Chaneysville Incident
1981  Book Cover  Walter Abish
How German is It?

Updated August 2014 sdc

Looking for additional novels on this or other subjects? Try out the NoveList database!

Connect to the main Lincoln City Libraries Web site!