Return to the main BookGuide page
Connect to the main Lincoln City Libraries Web site!
Sidewise Award banner

The Sidewise Award for Alternate History

The Sidewise Award for Alternate History was conceived in late 1995 to honor the best "Alternate History genre" publications of the year, and the first awards were announced in summer 1996. The award takes its name from Murray Leinster's 1934 short story "Sidewise In Time", in which a strange storm causes portions of Earth to swap places with their analogs from other timelines. Two awards are given each year. To be considered, a work must have either first English-language publication or first American publication* in the calendar year prior to the year in which the award is to be presented.

The Short-Form Award is presented for the best work of less than 60,000 words. This includes short stories, novelettes and novellas, and poems. The Long-Form Award is presented for the best work longer than 60,000 words. This category includes individual novels and longer works. This list on the library's Web site includes only the Long-Form winners. For a look at the Short-Form winners and all past nominees, please visit the official Sidewise Award Web site. In addition, at the discretion of the judges, a Special Achievement Award may be presented to honor a specific work or for a significant body of work which was published prior to the inception of the award; i.e., before 1995. NOTE: All books owned by Lincoln City Libraries are hotlinked to their entries in our library catalog, so that you may check on their current availability. If you see a title on this list that is not hotlinked to our collection, please consider ordering it through our Interlibrary Loan department.

Sidewise Award Winners for Best Alternate History -- Long-Form

2013 [tie]    D.J. Taylor
The Windsor Faction
2013 [tie]    Bryce Zable
Surrounded by Enemies: What if Kennedy Survived Dallas?
2012    C.J. Sansom
2011    Ian R. McLeod
Wake Up and Dream
2010    Eric G. Swedin
When Angels Wept: A What-If History of the Cuban Missile Crisis
2009    Robert Conroy
1942: A Novel
2008    Chris Roberson
The Dragon's Nine Sons
2007  Book Cover  Michael Chabon
The Yiddish Policeman's Union
2006  Book Cover  Charles Stross' "Merchant Princes" series, including:
The Family Trade
The Hidden Family and
The Clan Corporate
2005    Ian Macleod
The Summer Isles
2004  Book Cover  Philip Roth
The Plot Against America
2003    Murray Davies
2002  Book Cover  Harry Turtledove
Ruled Britannia
(tie)    Martin J. Gidron
The Severed Wing
2001  Book Cover  J.N. Stroyar
The Children's War
2000  Book Cover  Mary Gentle
Ash: A Secret History
1999  Book Cover  Brendan DuBois
Resurrection Day
1998  Book Cover  Stephen Fry
Making History
1997  Book Cover  Harry Turtledove
How Few Remain
1996  Book Cover  Stephen Baxter
1995  Book Cover  Paul J. McAuley
Pasquale's Angel

Updated August 2014 sdc

Looking for additional novels on this or other subjects? Try out the NoveList database!

Interested in other science fiction books? You might want to sign up for our Science Fiction Book Club at our On-Line Book Clubs page, or take a look at our other science fiction themed lists on our booklists page.

We also have a list of excellent Web sites for readers interested in learning more about science fiction literature. You can visit that at our Science Fiction and Fantasy Resources page.
Connect to the main Lincoln City Libraries Web site!