Return to the main BookGuide page
Connect to the main Lincoln City Libraries Web site!
KFOR Book Chat Selections

Starting in April 2002, a panel of library staff members (primarily from the Anderson, Bethany, Gere and Eiseley branches) have appeared somewhat regularly on Cathy Blythe's Problems and Solutions program on radio station KFOR 1240 AM in a segment called "Book Chat," sharing information about books and upcoming library programs. Here is a list of the books discussed in the most recent show:

July 16, 2014

Book Cover  Let the Tornado Come: A Memoir by Rita Zoey Chin [Biography Chin]

From an award-winning poet comes this riveting, gorgeous memoir about a young runaway, the trauma that haunted her as an adult, and the friendship with a horse that finally set her free. When she was eleven years old, Rita began to run away. Her father’s violence and her mother’s hostility drove her out of the house and into the streets in search of a better life. This soon led her into a dangerous world of drugs, predatory older men, and the occasional kindness of strangers, but despite the dangers, Rita kept running. One day she came upon a field of horses galloping along a roadside fence, and the sight of them gave her hope. The memory of their hoofbeats stayed with her. Rita survives her harrowing childhood to become a prize-winning writer and the wife of a promising surgeon. But when she is suddenly besieged by terrifying panic attacks, her past trauma threatens her hard-won happiness and the stable, comfortable life she’s built with her husband. Within weeks, she is incapacitated with fear—literally afraid of her own shadow. Realizing that she is facing a life of psychological imprisonment, Rita undertakes a journey to find help through a variety of treatments. It is ultimately through chasing her childhood passion for horses that she meets a spirited, endearing horse named Claret—with his own troubled history—and together they surmount daunting odds as they move toward fear and learn to trust, and ultimately save, each other.
Book Cover  The Winter Horses by Phillip Kerr [YA Kerr]

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous today. This inspiring tale captures the power of the human spirit and is perfect for fans of The Book Thief, Milkweed, and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas. It will soon be another cold winter in the Ukraine. But it's 1941, and things are different this year. Max, the devoted caretaker of an animal preserve, must learn to live with the Nazis who have overtaken this precious land. He must also learn to keep secrets—for there is a girl, Kalinka, who is hiding in the park. Kalinka has lost her home, her family, her belongings—everything but her life. Still, she has gained one small, precious gift: a relationship with the rare wild and wily Przewalski's horses that wander the preserve. Aside from Max, these endangered animals are her only friends—until a Nazi campaign of extermination nearly wipes them out for good. Now Kalinka must set out on a treacherous journey across the frozen forest to save the only two surviving horses—and herself.
Book Cover  The Amazing Harvey by Don Passman [Passman]

The distinctive cover of this one jumped out at me from the "new mysteries" section at Barnes and Noble every time I saw it, so I was happy to see the libraries pick it up as well. The Amazing Harvey is Harvey Kendell, a professional magician in Los Angeles, struggling to make ends meet. Moving from one low-paying performance job to another, and hanging out with his fellow magicians at The Magic Castle between gigs, Harvey's life suddenly spirals out of control, when he's accused in a case of rape and murder. Harvey knows that he didn't do the crime -- heck, he'd never even met the women he's accused of assaulting and killing. But, the police have DNA evidence that seems to contradict his claims. Turning down his mother's offer to hired a flashy TV attorney, Harvey instead turns to a former classmate, Heather, who's having some issues of her own, keeping her legal practice afloat without relying on handouts from her far-more successful attorney father. With Harvey working as Heather's legman, they look into the details of the life of the victim in Harvey's case, and Harvey also helps Heather with some of her other current cases. The characters here are well-rounded and, for the most part, likeable. Harvey's coping mechanism for stress is to crack wise. The backdrop of a working magician's life is fascinating. I look forward to more in this series.
Book Cover  Humans of New York by Brandon Stanton [974.7 Sta]

Brandon Stanton is a photo-blogger -- buying a camera in 2010, he started to take photos of his native Chicago, then Pittsburgh and Philadelphia, and shared those photos via online blogging sites with other people. He was particularly focusing on places and things (like architecture), but when he took photos of interesting and unique people, his readers/followers had strong reactions -- living more comments and/or "sharing" those photos through social networking sites. So, when Stanton got to New York City, he changed the focus of his photo-blogging, taking almost exclusively photographs of the people throughout this huge metropolis, and sharing them, daily, with short biographical snippets. His renamed blog Humans of New York skyrocketed in popularity. This book gathers 400 photos and biographical portraits of common, everyday New Yorkers -- some with mild quirks, some who are "out there", and some with amazing, emotional stories to tell. This book (and Stanton's photo-blog in general) should appeal to photographers, photograph enthusiasts, those who love "the Big Apple" and those interested in people-watching. Highly recommended.

Other KFOR Book Chat pages:

Past Years: 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008
2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002

Connect to the main Lincoln City Libraries Web site!