Return to the main BookGuide page
Connect to the main Lincoln City Libraries Web site!
This is a Nebraska Author! This is a Nebraska Author!
The novels and short story collections of Nebraska science fiction author
Robert Reed

Robert Reed was born in Omaha in 1956, and received a degree in Biology from Nebraska Wesleyan University in 1987. He first burst onto the science fiction scene by becoming the Gold Prize winner of the 2nd annual L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future competition (1986), and has held a prominent place in science fiction publishing ever since.

Although he has had eleven novels published (see list below), he is probably best known for his many short stories, novelettes and novellas. He has had over 140 shorter works published, and has been a finalist for the Hugo Award five times, the Nebula Award once, the World Fantasy Award once, the John W. Campbell Award twice and the Theodore Sturgeon Award three times. Twenty-three of his shorter works have been compiled in his two short story collections to date, also listed below. Stories by Reed regularly show up in genre short-fiction markets such as Asimov's Science Fiction Magazine, and his stories are frequently reprinted in the various annual "Year's Best SF" anthologies as well.

Robert Reed has appeared in the John H. Ames Reading Series three times (1993, 1999 and 2006), recordings of which are available for check out and viewing.

(Additional information about Robert Reed can be found at the following Web sites:)

book cover
The Leeshore

book cover
The Hormone Jungle

book cover
Black Milk

book cover
Down the Bright Way

book cover
The Remarkables

book cover
Beyond the Veil of Stars

book cover
An Exaltation of Larks

book cover
Beneath the Gated Sky

Sequel to Beyond the Veil of Stars.

book cover
The Dragons of Springplace

Short story collection containing 11 reprinted stories.

book cover


book cover
Sister Alice

-- Finalist for the John W. Campbell Award [2004]

book cover
The Well of Stars

A follow-up to Marrow.

-- Finalist for the John W. Campbell Award [2005]

book cover
The Cuckoo's Boys

Short story collection containing 11 reprinted stories, 1 all-new story, and an author's afterword.

book cover
Flavors of My Genius

Stand-alone novella.

book cover

Novella collection containing 3 reprinted novellas, and one all-new novella.

book cover
The Greatship

Collection of most of Reed's previously published "Great Ship" stories, many re-written, with new interstitial material. E-book and Print-on-Demand versions only.

book cover
The Memory of Sky

All-new trilogy of novels combined in a single volume. Set in Reed's "Great Ship" universe, in which both Marrow and The Well of Stars appear.

Connect to the main Lincoln City Libraries Web site!