LCL logo

Home

Banner image
Research Resources

Resources are grouped into these categories:
Arts & Music   
Automotive   
Books & literature   
Business, Consumer & Employment   
Directories   
Education   
Genealogy   
Geography   
Government & Politics   
Health   
History & Biography   
Language   
Law   
Magazines & news   
Religion   
Science   
Miscellaneous   

Login to these resources is automatic from most computers located within Lincoln City Libraries facilities.

Unless otherwise noted, off-site access is also available for Lincoln City Libraries cardholders; contact Library staff for login information.

Android and iPhone Apps for Selected Research Resourcessmartphone icon Resources marked with this icon can also be accessed through these Android and iPhone apps!

Arts & Music resources Arts & Music resources:
American Song   Recordings and information about the history of American music. This resource includes the material formerly included in African American Song. More info
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)   High-quality art images. Access is available only from within Lincoln City Libraries facilities. More info
Classical Music Library   Archive of classical music recordings and information about classical music. More info
Contemporary World Music   Recordings and information about contemporary music from around the world. More info
Jazz Music Library   Comprehensive collection of streaming jazz. More info
Music Online   All of our music resources combined in one interface. More info
NewPopular Music Library   Popular music from around the world. More info
Smithsonian Global Sound   Recordings and information about music from around the world. More info
 
Automotive Information Automotive Information:
smartphone iconChilton Library   Automotive repair information. More info
 
Books & literature resources Books & literature resources:
Books in Print   Database of books available from publishers. More info
Dear Reader Online Book Clubs   Book excerpts by e-mail.
Digital Downloads from OverDrive   Downloadable e-books and audiobooks (these may be checked out, but not downloaded on Library computers)
eBooks from EBSCO (formerly netLibrary)   Electronic books. More info
Fiction Connection   Help for finding good books to read. This resource is now incorporated into Books in Print and is no longer available separately.
Non-Fiction Connection   Help for finding good non-fiction books to read. This resource is now incorporated into Books in Print and is no longer available separately.
NoveList   Help for finding good books to read. More info
NoveList K-8   A special version of NoveList for kids. More info
TumbleBook Library   Animated, talking picture books and other e-Books for kids. More info
WorldCat   Access to the holdings records of libraries around the world. More info
 
Business, Consumer & Employment resources Business, Consumer & Employment resources:
Business Reference e-Books   This resource is no longer available
JobNow
powered by brainfuse
  Live interactive help and other resources for job seekers. Live help available from 2:00-11:00 PM each day. More info
LegalForms   This resource is no longer available
Morningstar® Investment Research Center   Business and investment information. More info
ReferenceUSA   Nationwide directory of businesses, jobs and internships. More info
Testing & Education Reference Center   Online test preparation and practice tests; resume builder and virtual career library. More info
Value Line® Investment Survey   Business and investment information. More info
 
Directories Directories:
ReferenceUSA   Nationwide business and residential directory. More info
 
Education resources Education resources:
Homework HelpNow
powered by brainfuse
  Online tutoring and homework help for grades 3-12. Service available from 2:00-11:00 PM each day. More info
Teacher Reference Center   Information for teachers and professional educators. More info
Testing & Education Reference Center   Online test preparation and practice tests; resume builder and virtual career library. More info
 
Genealogy resources Genealogy resources:
Ancestry Library Edition   Genealogy information. Access is available only from within Lincoln City Libraries facilities. More info
ArchiveGrid   Index to historical archives. Access is available only from within Lincoln City Libraries facilities. More info
HeritageQuest Online   Genealogy information. More info
 
Geography resources Geography resources:
Geography Reference e-Books   This resource is no longer available
Sanborn Maps (Nebraska)   Property and land-use maps from 1883 through 1962. More info
 
Government & Politics resources Government & Politics resources:
Government & Politics Reference e-Books   This resource is no longer available
 
Health resources Health resources:
Health and Medicine Reference e-Books   This resource is no longer available
Health and Wellness Resource Center   This resource is no longer available
 
History & Biography resources History & Biography resources:
ArchiveGrid   Index to historical archives. More info
Biography Reference Bank   Biographical database and periodicals index. More info
History Reference e-Books   This resource is no longer available
Sanborn Maps (Nebraska)   Property and land-use maps from 1883 through 1962. More info
 
Language resources Language resources:
Mango Languages   Lessons in foreign languages, plus English for speakers of other languages. More info
Note: this resource will be unavailable after the end of September.
mobile app informationA mobile app for Apple and Android devices is available for this resource.
New!Transparent Language Online   Lessons in foreign languages, plus English for speakers of other languages. More info
phone graphicA mobile app for Apple and Android devices is available for this resource.
 
Law resources Law resources:
LegalForms   This resource is no longer available
Legal Reference e-Books   This resource is no longer available
 
Magazines and news resources Magazines and news resources:
eLibrary (formerly Electric Library)   Articles from selected magazines, newspapers, books, and radio and TV broadcasts. Licensed for public library and home use only. More info
Lincoln Journal Star   Coverage of the Lincoln Journal Star from June 1996 to the present. More info
Magazine Article Search   Full-text magazine articles and reference sources. (This combines EBSCO MasterFile Premier and Wilson OmniFile.) More info
New York Times   Coverage from 1981-present. More info
 
Religion resources Religion resources:
Religion Reference e-Books   This resource is no longer available
 
Science resources Science resources:
Science and Nature Reference e-Books   This resource is no longer available
 
Miscellaneous resources Miscellaneous resources:
FirstSearch   Eleven databases on a variety of topics. More info
Gale Virtual Reference Library   This resource is no longer available
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)   Information about Library and Information Science. More info
SIRS Discoverer   Interactive tool covering a wide range of subjects for grades 1 through 9. More info