Advanced search

Posts tagged as Nebraska Governors

Nebraska Governors

November 27, 2012 by sdc
Nebraksa Governors page logo

Master List of Governors of the State of Nebraska

Click here for a listing of all of Nebraska's Governors

The Nebraska Governors List is available as a PDF file, which requires the free Adobe® Acrobat® Reader. Help for viewing PDF files is available.

Vertical Files Material

The Lincoln City Libraries maintains a collection of over 1300 clipping folders, known traditionally as our Vertical File Collection. These folders are all located In the basement Periodicals Room of our main headquarters -- Bennett Martin Public Library, 136 S. 14th St. 68508 -- in downtown Lincoln, Nebraska. This collection of clippings is primarily from the Lincoln newspapers from the 1930s through the 1990s, as well as a few other sources. Contents of folders can vary from just a few articles to many articles. Vertical Files materials are part of our reference collection and must be used in the library only. Photocopiers are available in the Periodicals room for local researchers wishing to make copies. Long-distance researchers wishing to make use of our Reference-by-Mail [mail your request to the Reference Department, c/o the address in the paragraph above] or Reference-by-Email services, can have copies made of any documents in the Vertical Files. See the Reference-by-Email page for a list of possible fees.


The following folders of clippings about the Governors of the State of Nebraska exist in our Vertical Files Collection:


  • Nebraska -- Governors
  • Nebraska -- Governors -- Mansion
  • Nebraska -- Governors -- Messages
  • Nebraska -- Governors -- Wives
We also have several Vertical Files folders about individual past Governors of Nebraska:


  • Morton, J. Sterling [1858] -- appointed position
  • McKelvie, Samuel [1919-1923] -- this and all below were elected
  • Griswold, Dwight [1941-1947]
  • Peterson, Val [1947-1953]
  • Crosby, Robert [1953-1955]
  • Anderson, Victor Emanuel [1955-1959]
  • Brooks, Ralph [1959-1960]
  • Burney, Dwight [1960-1961]
  • Morrison, Frank [1961-1967]
  • Tiemann, Norbert [1967-1971]
  • Exon, J. James [1971-1979]
  • Thone, Charles [1979-1983]
  • Kerrey, Robert [1983-1987]
  • Orr, Kay [1987-1991]
  • Nelson, Ben [1991-1999]

Other Resources

The library also has a microfilm reel containing clippings about the following Nebraska Governors: Victor A. Anderson; Ralph G. Brooks; Robert L. Cochran.


Official Web site of the
Governor of the State of Nebraska

Return to the Reference Department

Tagged in: Lincoln City Libraries, library, Lincoln, Nebraska, NE, libraries, public, public library, public libraries, Governors, Nebraska Governors, history,
Comments: 0

Previous Entries