| SIRS Discoverer is an interactive tool covering a wide range of subjects for grades 1 through 8.
If you are outside the library, click the button below to access SIRS Discoverer. You will be asked to enter your library card number; you will need to enter all fourteen digits with no spaces.
If you are using a Lincoln City Libraries computer, click the button below to access SIRS Discoverer. Login is automatic on computers located in Lincoln City Libraries.
September 17, 2013 by Webmaster
Tagged in: libraries, public, public library, public libraries, databases, youth services, children, kids, children,
June 24, 2013 by storysean
How can the library help you research your health condition?We all know how scary and uncertain everything seems when we aren't feeling healthy. People often turn to their libraries to research conditions, treatments, and to help self-diagnose. Libraries are great places to do this, but we always recommend seeking a doctor's help first and foremost. We aren't doctors, but we can often put you in touch with important resources to help you understand a diagnosis or explore health issues.
One resource that we highly recommend for Nebraska residents is the CHIRS (pronounced "cheers") service from McGoogan Medical Library in Omaha. CHIRS is a service for residents that have been doctor diagnosed with a condition or illness and are looking for authoritative information to expand their understanding. After you submit a CHIRS request a medical librarian will personally compile the latest information from reliable sources and deliver it to you either electronically or through the mail--for free.
Many people prefer to search online resources themselves. For them, we recommend our electronic resources like Health & Wellness Resource Center and our Health and Medicine collection of eBooks. Health & Wellness Resource Center is a comprehensive database of over 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, and over 700 health-related videos. Both resources are available online to valid Lincoln City Libraries cardholders. Health and Medicine eBooks are collections of full-text material on a variety of subjects--some even in Spanish. (Please note: these eBooks are not downloadable for use with an e-Reader; they are intended for reading on a computer screen.) What makes these resources special, is that they are compiled from reliable sources--saving you the work of evaluating the reliability of multiple Websites and disparate resources.
If Online resources aren't for you, then make sure to come into your local library branch and talk to a librarian about what books, magazines, and reference material they may have available. Our librarians are also available to help demonstrate some of our electronic resources. Many of our resources can be printed out for you to take home.
We hope that Lincoln City Libraries can help you discover the resources that best address your health questions. We do recommend that everyone researching health-related information first contact their physician or health care provider and evaluate information for reliability and authority. The Medical Library Association provides a User's Guide to Finding and Evaluating Health Information on the Web.
Tagged in: health, medicine, medical, sick, illness, condition, library, Resources, databases, search,
May 28, 2013 by storysean
- Settle a dispute with your significant other by Instant Messaging your local Reference Librarian
- Research your family tree with our HeritageQuest Online genealogy database, available 24/7
- Listen to oral histories of Lincoln immigrants through the Star City Treasures project
- Read some fantastic reviews at our site devoted to book-lovers, BookGuide
- Listen to a book talk podcast
- Read-up on your favorite personality with our Biographies database
- Install a Lincoln City Libraries search widget on your Internet browser so you can search the catalog anytime, anywhere
- Suggest a title for us to purchase
- Request a title that we don't own through Inter Library Loan. We can often get those hard-to-find items for you
- Download an audio book to listen to while you work
- Download an eBook to read on your e-reader
- Listen to Classical, Global, or African American sounds on our streaming music resource
What Can You Do at the Library in Your Pajamas? page 2
Tagged in: pajamas, Resources, online, remote, Research, databases,
January 02, 2013 by pjorgensen
If you are having trouble accessing our Research Resources from outside the library (for example, you are not asked for your library card number, or after entering your card number you are asked for a user name and password), please look over this list of possible causes:
- I'm not being asked for my library card number.
Be sure you start from our Research Resources page each time you use our Research Resources - bookmarking individual resources in your browser usually doesn't work.
If you are starting from the correct page, are you behind a firewall or other security software that is blocking access? Your firewall must allow access to port 2048 to allow you to log into our resources. Some resources may also require access to other ports within these ranges:
Some Internet Service Providers may have firewalls that block some of these ports; you may need to contact your ISP to find out how to correct this problem.
- I entered my card number, but it says my identification is not recognized.
Be sure you enter all 14 digits of your library card number, with no spaces or punctuation.
If you're sure you entered your card number correctly, please check with library staff. Cards that have not been used to check out materials for five years and cards that have been reported lost are removed from our database and cannot be used to access Research Resources.
- I entered my card number, but I'm being asked for a Username and Password.
- I entered my card number, but it says my computer is not recognized.
These symptoms have several possible causes:
- Some resources require you to register and login even after you have entered your card number.
In these cases, you will be given the opportunity to choose your own user name and password. If you are asked to register and then told that your computer is not recognized, it is probably due to a firewall or other security software; see the section on blocked referrer information below.
- Is your browser accepting cookies?
You must have cookies enabled in your browser to log into these Research Resources.
- Are there old browser cookies or temporary Internet files interfering with logging in?
Clear your cookies and temporary (cached) files from your browser, and try logging in again; using a different browser may also help.
- Are your Internet security settings too restrictive?
You may need to lower your security settings to log in to some resources.
- Are you using other Internet security, privacy, or firewall software that blocks referrer information?
Internet security, privacy, and firewall software that blocks your browser from sending referrer information can cause problems with accessing some resources. (Examples of this kind of software would be Norton Internet Security, Norton Personal Firewall, and ZoneAlarm.) Some Internet Service Providers may have firewalls that block referrer information; you may need to contact your ISP to find out how to correct this problem. Here are some additional tips for correcting this problem.
- Some resources require you to register and login even after you have entered your card number.
- After I've logged in with my library card, I'm taken to a different resource than the one I clicked on.
Are you using a computer at an institution that has its own collection of resources or databases? If you are using a computer at another institution (such as Lincoln Public Schools, Southeast Community College, or the University of Nebraska) that subscribes to resources from the same companies that we do, you may be restricted to that institution's resources instead of those that Lincoln City Libraries subscribes to, even after you've logged in through our Web site.
- I was able to access this resource yesterday, but it won't let me in today.
Occasionally our resource providers experience technical problems or perform maintenance on their computers, and occasionally our own automated system is down for similar reasons. In these cases you may simply need to wait and try again another time.
If you have Internet security, privacy, or firewall software that blocks your browser from sending referrer information, you will need to tell the software to allow the sending of referrer information to the domains used by our subscription resources and our online forms. While we are unable to provide specific instructions on configuring your software, the table below shows the addresses your software will need to allow. Instructions for Norton Internet Security and Norton Personal Firewall are available from Symantec's Web site.
Some Internet Service Providers may have firewalls that block referrer information; you may need to contact your ISP to find out how to correct this problem. Windstream Broadband users should follow the instructions on this Windstream Support page to set their firewall to a lower level, or turn it off entirely. If you turn the Windstream firewall off, we strongly recommend that you have another firewall in place (for example, the one built into recent versions of Windows).
|If you are having trouble using these resources||Add these addresses|
|Lincoln City Libraries' online forms||*.lincolnlibraries.org
Classical Music Library
Contemporary World Music
Jazz Music Library
Smithsonian Global Sound
Theatre in Video
These resources also require that port 1755 is not blocked
|A to Z: The USA||*.atoztheusa.com|
|A to Z: The World Facts & Travel (Global Road Warrior)||*.globalroadwarrior.com|
|Auto Repair Reference Center
Biography Reference Bank
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Teacher Reference Center
|Business Reference e-Books
Geography Reference e-Books
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Health and Medicine Reference e-Books
Health and Wellness Resource Center
History Reference e-Books
Religion Reference e-Books
West's Encyclopedia of American Law
|Historic Map Works||*.proquest.com
Nebraska Small Business Forms
|Lincoln Journal Star||*.newsbank.com|
|Morningstar Library Edition||*.morningstar.com|
|OverDrive (downloadable audiobooks)||*.overdrive.com
|Oxford Language Dictionaries Online||*.oxfordlanguagedictionaries.com|
|Testing & Education Reference Center||*.galegroup.com
|Value Line Investment Survey||*.valueline.com|
Tagged in: libraries, public, public library, databases, periodicals, magazine, magazines, index, troubleshooting, technical, tech, assist, assistance, Research Resources,
May 07, 2012 by storysean
- Find the diagrams and step-by-step instructions to repair your car (remember to wear your old pajamas)
- We have many of the forms you'll need to plan your estate
- Search your favorite magazines for articles on any topic
- Print-off sheet music from old Nebraska composers
- Familiarize yourself with some of Nebraska's best loved authors in the Heritage Room
- Investigate a medical condition with the Health and Wellness Resource Center
- Place a hold on an item you can't do without. We'll call or email you when it has arrived
- Discover new books, authors, and read-alike lists with our online resources, such as NoveList and Fiction Connection
- Use our online directory Reference USA to find residential telephone numbers and business information
- Steer your child towards our online resources geared specifically for children on Linc for Kids
Tagged in: online, Resources, pajamas, databases, services, remote, access,