Link to our Facebook Page
Link to our Twitter Page
Link to our Pinterest Page
Link to our Instagram Page
Link to our Youtube Page

Hillerman Prize


The Hillerman Prize was established in 2006 to honor Tony Hillerman [1925-2008], considered by many mystery readers and writers to be “the dean of Southwestern mysteries” for his hugely successful Jim Chee/Joe Leaphorn Arapaho mystery series. The prize goes to an unpublished author for a first mystery novel set in the Southwest, and is selected by judges chosen by the editorial staff of St. Martin’s Press, which was, for many years, Tony Hillerman’s primary publisher. For more information, including the full rules and guidelines for this award, click on the The Official Hillerman Prize web site (currently inactive).

[Note: No prize was given in 2009 or 2012 or 2016.]

The titles in this list are “hotlinked” to the library’s catalog, for all those titles currently owned by the Lincoln City Libraries. For titles not currently owned by our system, please consider requesting them through our Interlibrary Loan service.

The Hillerman Prize winners — 2007 to present

Carol Potenza
Hearts of the Missing

Kevin Wolf
The Home Place

John Fortunato
Dark Reservations

C.B. McKenzie
Bad Country

Andrew Hunt
City of Saints

Tricia Fields
The Territory

Roy Chaney
The Ragged Edge of Nowhere

Book Cover2007 
Christine Barber
The Replacement Child


Originally posted January 2012
Last updated March 2018 sdc