Link to our Facebook Page
Link to our Instagram Page
Link to our X Page
Link to our Youtube Page

Hugo Awards


The Hugo Awards are the most prominent award given for science fiction and fantasy literature each year. The first Hugos were given out in 1953, with the award becoming an annual event beginning in 1958. Fans who are registered as attending or supporting members of the World Science Fiction Convention (i.e. the Worldcon) are encouraged to nominate the best science fiction or fantasy works in the categories of Novel, Novella, Novelette and Short Story. [Additional categories exist for filmed works, anthologies, collections and various non-fiction works — information about these can be found at this Hugo Award site.] Fans with memberships to the Worldcon also vote on the Hugos. The Hugo Awards are then presented at the annual Worldcon. In 1996, 2001 and 2004, “retro-Hugos” were presented, for works which had been originally published in 1946, 1951 and 1954, respectively.

The titles in this list are “hotlinked” to the library’s catalog, for all those titles currently owned by the Lincoln City Libraries. NOTE: Several of the earlier Hugo-winning novels have gone out of print and are no longer in our collection. For these, we encourage you to order them through out InterLibrary Loan service.

Hugo Winners for Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Novel

Book Cover2023
T. Kingfisher
Nettle & Bone

Book Cover2022
Arkady Martine
A Desolation Called Peace

Book Cover2021
Martha Wells
Network Effect

Book Cover2020
Arkady Martine
A Memory Called Empire

Book Cover2019
Mary Robinette Kowal
The Calculating Stars

Book Cover2018
N.K. Jemisin
The Stone Sky

Book Cover2017
N.K. Jemisin
The Obelisk Gate

Book Cover2016
N.K. Jemisin
The Fifth Season

Book Cover2015
Cixin Liu
The Three Body Problem

Book Cover2014
Ann Leckie
Ancillary Justice

Book Cover2013 
John Scalzi

Book Cover2012 
Jo Walton
Among Others

Book Cover2011
Connie Willis
[Two combined winning titles — comprising a single story — by the same author]

Book Cover2011
Connie Willis
All Clear
[Two combined winning titles — comprising a single story — by the same author]

Book Cover2010 [tie] 
China Mieville
The City and The City

Book Cover2010 [tie] Paolo Bacigalupi
The Windup Girl

Book Cover2009 
Neil Gaiman
The Graveyard Book

Book Cover2008 
Michael Chabon
The Yiddish Policeman’s Union

Book Cover2007
Vernor Vinge
Rainbow’s End

book cover2006
Robert Charles Wilson

book cover2005
Susanna Clarke
Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell

book cover2004
Lois McMaster Bujold
The Paladin of Souls

book cover2003
Robert J. Sawyer

book cover2002
Neil Gaiman
American Gods

book cover2001
J.K. Rowling
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

book cover2000
Vernor Vinge
A Deepness in the Sky

book cover1999
Connie Willis
To Say Nothing of the Dog

book cover1998
Joe Haldeman
Forever Peace

book cover1997
Kim Stanley Robinson
Blue Mars

book cover1996
Neal Stephenson
The Diamond Age

Lois McMaster Bujold
Mirror Dance

book cover1994
Kim Stanley Robinson
Green Mars

Vernor Vinge
A Fire Upon the Deep

book cover1992
Lois McMaster Bujold

Lois McMaster Bujold
The Vor Game

book cover1990
Dan Simmons

C.J. Cherryh

book cover1988
David Brin
The Uplift War

book cover1987
Orson Scott Card
Speaker For the Dead

book cover1986
Orson Scott Card
Ender’s Game

book cover1985
William Gibson

David Brin
Startide Rising

book cover1983
Isaac Asimov
Foundation’s Edge

C.J. Cherryh
Downbelow Station

Joan Vinge
The Snow Queen

Arthur C. Clarke
The Fountains of Paradise

Vonda N. McIntyre

book cover1978
Frederik Pohl

Kate Wilhelm
Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang

book cover1976
Joe Haldeman
The Forever War

book cover1975
Ursula K. LeGuin
The Dispossessed

Arthur C.Clarke
Rendezvous With Rama

Isaac Asimov
The Gods Themselves

book cover1972
Philip Jose Farmer
To Your Scattered Bodies Go

book cover1971
Larry Niven

book cover1970
Ursula K. LeGuin
The Left Hand of Darkness

John Brunner
Stand on Zanzibar

book cover1968
Roger Zelazny
Lord of Light

book cover1967
Robert A. Heinlein
The Moon is a Harsh Mistress

1966 [tie] Roger Zelazny
…And Call Me Conrad

book cover1966 [tie] Frank Herbert

Fritz Leiber
The Wanderer

Clifford Simak
Way Station

book cover1963
Philip K. Dick
The Man in the High Castle

book cover1962
Robert A. Heinlein
Stranger in a Strange Land

book cover1961
Walter M. Miller
A Canticle for Leibowitz

book cover1960
Robert A. Heinlein
Starship Troopers

James Blish
A Case of Conscience

Fritz Leiber
The Big Time

[No Awards Given This Year]

Robert A. Heinlein
Double Star

Mark Clifton & Frank Riley
They’d Rather Be Right

book cover1954
Ray Bradbury
Fahrenheit 451 [awarded in 2004]

Alfred Bester
The Demolished Man

Robert A. Heinlein
Farmer in the Sky [awarded in 2001]

Isaac Asimov
The Mule [awarded in 1996]

Fritz Leiber
The Conjure Wife [awarded in 2019]

Anson Macdonald (Robert A. Heinlein)
Beyond This Horizon [awarded in 2018]

A.E. Van Vogt
Slan [awarded in 2016]

T.h. White
The Sword in the Stone [awarded in 2014]

Updated October 2023 sdc