Link to our Facebook Page
Link to our Instagram Page
Link to our X Page
Link to our Youtube Page

McIlvanney Prize

The McIlvanney Prize was established in 2012 to honor the best Scottish Crime Fiction each year. Scottish roots are a must for competition applications: authors must either be born in Scotland, live there or set their books there. The prize was renamed in 2016 in memory of William McIlvanney, author of Laidlaw (1977), who is often described as the Godfather of Tartan Noir. For more information, including the full rules and guidelines for this award, click on the The Official McIlvanney Prize web site., where you will find the “longlists” and “shortlists” of all titles considered for each year’s award.

The titles in this list are “hotlinked” to the library’s catalog, for all those titles currently owned by the Lincoln City Libraries. For titles not currently owned by our system, please consider requesting them through our Interlibrary Loan service.

The McIlvanney Prize winners — 2012 to present

Alan Parks
May God Forgive

Craig Russell

Francine Toon

Manda Scott
A Treachery of Spies (not in library collection)

In 2019, the winner (as determined by a panel of judges) was Manda Scott, with her novel A Treachery of Spies. She chose to share her honor equally with the other three novelists on the “short list” of considered titles. Those additional “winners” were:

2019 co-winner
Doug Johnstone

2019 co-winner
Denise Mina

2019 co-winner
Ambrose Parry
The Way of All Flesh

Book Cover2018
Liam McIlvanney
The Quaker

Book Cover2017
Denise Mina
The Long Drop

Book Cover2016
Chris Brookmyre
Black Widow

Craig Russell
The Ghosts of Altona (not in library collection)

Book Cover2014
Peter May
Entry Island

Book Cover2013
Malcolm Mackay
How a Gunman Says Goodbye

Charles Cumming
The Replacement Child (not in library collection)

Originally posted February 2020 | Last updated September 2022 sdc