Link to our Facebook Page
Link to our Twitter Page
Link to our Pinterest Page
Link to our Flickr Page
Link to our Youtube Page

Nebraska Author Alex Kava

NebraskaAuthorkavaphotoA list of works by Nebraska mystery author
Alex Kava

Alex Kava (a.k.a. Sharon Kava) was raised outside of rural Silver Creek in central Nebraska. Interested in writing from a young age, she sometimes had to hide her earliest works while growing up in a hard-working family where reading could be considered a bit frivilous. Among the jobs she held while working to pay her way through college, Kava was employed by a hospital, where she cleaned and sterilized the tools and equipment for the morgue and surgery departments. Graduating from Omaha’s College of St. Mary’s in 1982, Kava went on work in commercial design, copy writing and as a director of public relations.

In 1996, wishing to become a freelance writer, she quit her full-time job, falling back on a home-based graphic-design business and even delivering newspapers to make ends meet. In 2000, A Perfect Evil, her first FBI thriller featuring profiler Maggie O’Dell, was published. Inspired by the crimes of Nebraska serial killer John Joubert, it became a bestseller and has led to a series of O’Dell thrillers. Kava’s 2004 novel, One False Move (not in the O’Dell series) has been selected as the 2nd annual One Book One Nebraska title for 2006.

(Additional information about Alex Kava can be found at the following Web sites:)

Alex Kava’s books

perfectevilA Perfect Evil

A Maggie O’Dell FBI thriller.

splitsecondSplit Second

A Maggie O’Dell FBI thriller.

soulcatcherThe Soul Catcher

A Maggie O’Dell FBI thriller.

strokeofmadnessAt the Stroke of Madness

A Maggie O’Dell FBI thriller.

onefalsemoveOne False Move

necessaryevilA Necessary Evil

A Maggie O’Dell FBI thriller.



A Maggie O’Dell FBI thriller.

blackfridayBlack Friday

A Maggie O’Dell FBI thriller.


A Maggie O’Dell FBI thriller.


A Maggie O’Dell FBI thriller.


A Maggie O’Dell FBI thriller.


A Maggie O’Dell FBI thriller.

breakingcreedBreaking Creed

First in the Ryder Creed series.

silentcreedSilent Creed

Secondin the Ryder Creed series.



thrillerThriller: Stories to Keep You Up All Night

>> Alex Kava contributed the short story “Goodnight, Sweet Mother” to this anthology edited by James Patterson

Posted March 2006 sdc / last updated September 2016 sdc