Link to our Facebook Page
Link to our Instagram Page
Link to our X Page
Link to our Youtube Page

Nebraska Author Harley Jane Kozak

NebraskaAuthorkozakphotoA list of works by Nebraska mystery author
Harley Jane Kozak

Although born in Wilkes-Barre, PA, Harley Jane Kozak spent most of her formative years growing up in Lincoln, NE. Her father died when she was only one, and her mother eventually resettled the family in Lincoln so that she could teach at UN-L. Kozak is perhaps best known as a television, film and theater actress, prior to her budding writing career. She made her stage debut at age 5, and appeared regularly in a variety of different productions throughout elementary and Junior and Senior High School (she attended Lincoln High).

At age 19, she moved to New York City, where she attended the School of Performing Arts. Her first filmed role was in the TV series Texas, (1981-82) and her first movie was The House on Sorority Row (1983). She appeared in the soap operas Guiding Light and Santa Barbara, and since moving to California in the early 1980s has appeared in numerous feature films (including Parenthood, Arachnaphobia, Necessary Roughness, All I Want for Christmas and Dark Planet) and television series (including Harts of the West, Bringing Up Jack and Charlie Grace). as well as TV-movies and stage productions. Kozak has even occasionally returned to Lincoln to appear in productions with the Nebraska Repertory Theater, re-connecting with her Nebraska roots.

Happily married now and residing in California with her husband, three children and assorted animals, Kozak launched her literary career auspiciously. Although it took her 10 years to finish her first novel — the romantic mystery novel Dating Dead Men (2004) — it has gained her widespread acclaim and numerous awards. It is just the first in a series featuring her plucky, independent heroine, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, a.k.a. Wollie Shelley.

Additional information about Harley Jane Kozak can be found at the following Web sites:

datingdeadmenDating Dead Men

First in the “Wollie Shelley” series. Kozak’s premiere novel won the following awards:
>> 2005 Nebraska Book Award for Best Fiction
>> Agatha Award for Best First Mystery Novel
>> Anthony Award for Best First Mystery Novel
>> Macavity Award for Best First Mystery Novel
>> Romantic Times Award for Best Humorous Mystery
>> Bookspan: Favorite Insider Discovery

datingismurderDating is Murder

2nd in the “Wollie Shelley” series.

deadexDead Ex

3rd in the “Wollie Shelley” series.

dateyoucantrefuseA Date You Can’t Refuse

4th in the “Wollie Shelley” series.

keeperofthemoonThe Keeper of the Moon

Book 2 in the “L.A. Keepers” series — other books are by other authors.

Anthologies containing stories by Harley Jane Kozak

noimageLAndmarked for Murder

Mystery anthology c0-edited by Harley Jane Kozak.

noimageMystery Muses

Includes a Kozak essay about Katherine Neville’s “The Eight”.

noimageThis is Chick Lit

Includes the Kozak story “The Infidelity Diet”.

noimageA Hell of a Woman

Includes an essay by Kozak.

crimesbymoonlightCrimes by Moonlight
(2010) (813.08 Mys)

Includes the Kozak story “Madeeda”.

noimageButcher Knives and Body Counts: Essays on the Formula, Frights and Fun of the Slasher Film

Includes the Kozak essay “The House on Sorority Row”.

noimageThe Rich and the Dead

Edited by Nelson DeMille. Includes the Kozak story “Lamborghini Mommy”.

noimageFor the Sake of the Game
(2018) (813.08 Kin)

Sherlock Holmes anthology edited by Laurie R. King. Includes the Kozak story “The Walk-In”

Posted March 2006 sdc / last updated May 2023 sdc