Link to our Facebook Page
Link to our Instagram Page
Link to our X Page
Link to our Youtube Page

Nebraska Author Robert Reed

NebraskaAuthorreedphotoThe novels and short story collections of Nebraska science fiction author
Robert Reed

Robert Reed was born in Omaha in 1956, and received a degree in Biology from Nebraska Wesleyan University in 1987. He first burst onto the science fiction scene by becoming the Gold Prize winner of the 2nd annual L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future competition (1986), and has held a prominent place in science fiction publishing ever since.

Although he has had eleven novels published (see list below), he is probably best known for his many short stories, novelettes and novellas. He has had over 200 shorter works published, and has been a finalist for the Hugo Award eight times, the Nebula Award twice, the World Fantasy Award once, the John W. Campbell Award twice and the Theodore Sturgeon Award nine times. Twenty-three of his shorter works have been compiled in his two short story collections to date, also listed below. Stories by Reed regularly show up in genre short-fiction markets such as The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, and Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine, and his stories are frequently reprinted in the various annual “Year’s Best SF” anthologies as well.

Robert Reed has appeared in the John H. Ames Reading Series three times (1993, 1999 and 2006), recordings of which are available for check out and viewing.

Additional information about Robert Reed can be found at the following Web sites:


ReedLeeshore300The Leeshore

ReedHormone300The Hormone Jungle

blackmilkhbBlack Milk

downthebrightwayDown the Bright Way

remarkablesThe Remarkables

beyondtheveilofstarsBeyond the Veil of Stars

exaltationoflarksAn Exaltation of Larks

beneaththegatedskyBeneath the Gated Sky

Sequel to Beyond the Veil of Stars.

dragonsofspringplaceThe Dragons of Springplace

Short story collection containing 11 reprinted stories.


sisteraliceSister Alice

— Finalist for the John W. Campbell Award (2004)

wellofstarsThe Well of Stars

A follow-up to Marrow.

— Finalist for the John W. Campbell Award (2005)

cuckoosboysThe Cuckoo’s Boys

Short story collection containing 11 reprinted stories, 1 all-new story, and an author’s afterword.

flavorsofmygeniusFlavors of My Genius

Stand-alone novella.


Novella collection containing 3 reprinted novellas, and one all-new novella.

The Greatship

Collection of most of Reed’s previously published “Great Ship” stories, many re-written, with new interstitial material. E-book and Print-on-Demand versions only.

memoryofskyThe Memory of Sky

All-new trilogy of novels combined in a single volume. Set in Reed’s “Great Ship” universe, in which both Marrow and The Well of Stars appear.

The Trials of Quentin Maurus

All-new quartet of novels released in e-book format on Amazon only. Individual volumes are: Inevitable, Insatiable, Ephemeral, and Everlasting.

The Dragons of Marrow: A Great Ship Novel

New novel set in Reed’s “Great Ship” universe, released in e-book format only.

Robert Reed continues to write new materials, including many new novellas or novelettes set in his “Great Ship” universe, which he releases exclusively in electronic format, via his author page on He is also digitizing his backlog of earlier stories, and re-releasing them on a one-by-one basis as e-book purchases.

Last updated May 2023 sdc