Link to our Facebook Page
Link to our Instagram Page
Link to our X Page
Link to our Youtube Page

Flavia de Luce

sweetnessatthebottomIf You Like the Flavia de Luce series…
Try These Additional Series by These Authors

The Flavia De Luce series, by Alan Bradley, hit bookshelves in 2009, with the introductory volume, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. The series introduces one of contemporary fiction’s most unique central characters — Eleven-year-old Flavia de Luce, an aspiring chemist with a passion for poison. Set in 1950s England, the books feature a memorable narrative voice and an uncommon setting.

Finding exact readlikes for the Flavia De Luce series is difficult — there’s nothing exactly like them. However, the series listed below capture some of the same settings, tones and flavors of Bradley’s books, and are worth giving a try. The series names are hotlinked to their holdings in our catalog, so that you may check on the availability of titles in print or audio formats.

Erast Fandorin series by Boris Akunin
Hamish Macbeth series by M.C. Beaton
Agatha Raisin series by M.C. Beaton
Quirke Griffin series by Benjamin Black
Aimee LeDuc Investigations series by Cara Black
Constable Evans series by Rhys Bowen
Georgiana Rannoch series by Rhys Bowen
The White Russian by Thom Bradby
Charles Paris series by Simon Brett
Fethering series by Simon Brett
Inspector Montalbano series by Andrea Camilleri
Scotland Yard series by Deborah Crombie
Vish Puri series by Tarquin Hall
Aurora Teagarden series by Charlaine Harris
Lily Bard series by Charlaine Harris
We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson
Isabel Dalhousie series by Alexander McCall-Smith
Maisie Dobbs series by Jacqueline Winspear

posted to BookGuide in June 2010 lv/sdc