Link to our Facebook Page
Link to our Instagram Page
Link to our X Page
Link to our Youtube Page

Laurell K. Hamilton

If You Like Laurell K. Hamilton…
Try these Authors and their series

guiltypleasuresLaurell K. Hamilton is a contemporary author, whose best known works are the novels featuring Anita Blake, a Vampire Hunter and undead Animator. This series mixes horror, fantasy and mystery equally well, and Anita Blake is one of the strongest, most self-sufficient heroines in modern literature. Set in St. Louis, Anita’s job involves reanimating the dead to solve disputes among the living, and hunting down the undead who have crossed the line into illegal behavior. Another prominent element that is popular in the Anita Blake novels is Romance — Anita has on-again/off-again relationships with Jean Claude, the leader of the local Vampire population, and Richard, the leader of the local Werewolf clan. Over the course of the series, the romantic elements have gone from “steamy” to “highly erotic”, a move that has annoyed some readers and made other readers into new fans.

kissofshadowsIn addition to the Anita Blake series, Laurell K. Hamilton has also launched another contemporary fantasy/mystery series, with a somewhat darker tone. Set in Los Angeles, the series features Merry Gentry, a half-fairy/half-human investigator who specializes in cases involving the paranormal. This series delves much more deeply into the mythology of the world of faerie, and is also much more erotic than even the recent Anita Blake books. Both the Anita Blake books and the Merry Gentry books are dark in tone, but appeal to a broad cross-section of readers.

Hamilton’s deft mixing of contemporary culture and ancient mythologies of the paranormal, with snappy dialog and a hip sensibility has allowed the Anita Blake series to cross over from the fantasy shelves of the genre ghetto into mainstream fiction. The following authors’ series have been successful in following Hamilton’s lead to establish their own popular fan followings. The titles owned by the Lincoln City Libraries are hotlinked to their entries in our catalog, so that you may check on the availability of books immediately. Those titles not hotlinked to our catalog as listed here to provide complete series entries. If you are interested in reading any of the books not in our collection, please consider ordering it through our Interlibrary Loan department.

Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Otherworld series

  • Bitten
  • Stolen
  • Dime Store Magic
  • Industrial Magic
  • Haunted
  • Chaotic (novella in “Dates From Hell”)
  • Broken
  • No Humans Involved
  • Personal Demon
  • Living With the Dead
  • Frost Bitten
  • Waking the Witch
  • Spellbound
  • Thirteen

Patricia Brigg’s Mercy Thompson series

  • Moon Called
  • Blood Bound
  • Iron Kissed
  • Bone Crossed
  • Silver Borne
  • River Marked
  • Frost Burned
  • Night Broken
  • Fire Touched

Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files series

  • Storm Front
  • Fool Moon
  • Grave Peril
  • Summer Knight
  • Death Masks
  • Blood Rites
  • Dead Beat
  • Proven Guilty
  • White Night
  • Small Favor
  • Turn Coat
  • Changes
  • Ghost Story
  • Cold Days
  • Skin Game

Rachel Caine’s Weather Warden series

  • Ill Wind
  • Heat Stroke
  • Chill Factor
  • Windfall
  • Firestorm
  • Thin Air
  • Gale Force
  • Cape Storm
  • Total Eclipse

Karen Chance’s Cassandra Palmer series

  • Touch the Dark
  • Claimed by Shadow
  • Embrace the Night
  • Curse the Dawn
  • Hunt the Moon
  • Tempt the Stars
  • Reap the Wind
  • Ride the Storm

Christine Feehan’s Carpathian series

  • Dark Prince (including story “Dark Descent”)
  • Dark Desire
  • Dark Gold
  • Dark Magic
  • Dark Challenge
  • Dark Fire
  • Dark Legend [library owns this only in LT]
  • Dark Guardian
  • Dark Symphony
  • Dark Descent
  • Dark Melody
  • Dark Destiny
  • Dark Hunger (in collection “Hot Blooded”)
  • Dark Secret
  • Dark Demon
  • Dark Celebration
  • Dark Dream (in collection “Dark Dreamers”)
  • Dark Possession
  • Dark Curse
  • Dark Slayer
  • Dark Peril
  • Dark Predator
  • Dark Storm
  • Dark Lycan
  • Dark Wolf
  • Dark Blood
  • Dark Crime
  • Dark Ghosts
  • Dark Promises
  • Dark Carousel

Charlaine Harris’ Southern Vampire/Sookie Stackhouse series

  • Dead Until Dark
  • Living Dead in Dallas
  • Club Dead
  • Dead to the World
  • Dead as a Doornail
  • Definitely Dead
  • All Together Dead
  • From Dead to Worse
  • Dead and Gone
  • Dead in the Family
  • Dead Reckoning
  • Deadlocked
  • Dead Ever After

Kim Harrison’s Rachel Morgan series

  • Dead Witch Walking
  • The Good, the Bad and the Undead
  • Every Which Way But Dead
  • A Fistful of Charms
  • For a Few Demons More
  • The Outlaw Demon Wails
  • White Witch, Black Curse
  • Black Magic Sanction
  • Pale Demon
  • A Perfect Blood
  • Ever After
  • The Undead Pool
  • The Witch With No Name

Tanya Huff’s Blood Ties series

  • Blood Price
  • Blood Trail
  • Blood Pact
  • Blood Lines
  • Blood Debt
  • Blood Bank

Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series

  • Night Pleasures
  • Dance With the Devil
  • Night Embrace
  • Kiss of the Night
  • Night Play
  • Seize the Night
  • Sins of the Night
  • Unleash the Night
  • Devil May Cry
  • Upon the Midnight Clear
  • Dream Chaser
  • A Hard Day’s Night-Searcher
  • Acheron
  • Until Death We Do Part
  • One Silent Night
  • Dream Warrior
  • Bad Moon Rising
  • No Mercy
  • Retribution
  • The Guardian
  • Time Untime
  • Styxx
  • Son of No One
  • Dragonbane
  • Dragonmark
  • Dragonsworn
  • The Dark-Hunter Companion

J.D. Robb’s Eve Dallas/”…In Death” series

  • Naked in Death
  • Glory in Death
  • Immortal in Death
  • Rapture in Death
  • Ceremony in Death
  • Vengeance in Death
  • Holiday in Death
  • Story “Midnight in Death” in Silent Night anthology
  • Conspiracy in Death
  • Loyalty in Death
  • Witness in Death
  • Judgment in Death
  • Betrayal in Death
  • Story “Interlude in Death” in Out of This World anthology
  • Seduction in Death
  • Reunion in Death
  • Purity in Death
  • Remember When [written as a cross-over between two of this author’s different writing identities — J.D. Robb and Nora Roberts]
  • Imitation in Death
  • Divided in Death
  • Visions in Death
  • Survivor in Death
  • Origin in Death
  • Memory in Death
  • Innocent in Death
  • Born in Death
  • Creation in Death
  • Story “Eternity in Death” in Dead of Night anthology
  • Eternity in Death [only available on Compact Disc]
  • Strangers in Death
  • Salvation in Death
  • Promises in Death
  • Kindred in Death
  • Fantasy in Death
  • Indulgence in Death
  • Treachery in Death
  • New York to Dallas
  • Celebrity in Death
  • Delusion in Death
  • Calculated in Death
  • Thankless in Death
  • Concealed in Death
  • Festive in Death
  • Obsession in Death
  • Devoted in Death
  • Brotherhood in Death
  • Apprentice in Death

Lilith Saintcrow’s Dante Valentine seies

  • Working for the Devil
  • Dead Man Rising
  • The Devil’s Right Hand
  • Saint City Sinners
  • To Hell and Back

Lilith Saintcrow’s Jill Kismet seies

  • Hunter’s Prayer
  • Night Shift
  • Redemption Alley
  • Flesh Circus
  • Heaven’s Spite
  • Angel Town

Alan F. Troop’s Dragon Delasangre series

  • The Dragon Delasangre
  • Dragon Moon
  • The Seadragon’s Daughter
  • A Host of Dragons

Carrie Vaughn’s Kitty Norville series

  • Kitty and the Midnight Hour
  • Kitty Goes to Washington
  • Kitty Takes a Holiday
  • Kitty and the Silver Bullet
  • Kitty and the Dead Man’s Hand
  • Kitty Raises Hell
  • Kitty’s House of Horrors
  • Kitty Goes to War
  • Kitty’s Big Trouble
  • Kitty Steals the Show
  • Kitty Rocks the House
  • Kitty in the Underworld
  • Low Midnight
  • Kitty Saves the World
last updated July 2008 sdc