Link to our Facebook Page
Link to our Instagram Page
Link to our X Page
Link to our Youtube Page

Sue Grafton

If You Like Sue Grafton
Try These Authors:

sisforsilenceThe mystery novels of Sue Grafton are categorized as private investigator mysteries, featuring a strong, female protagonist, with on-going plot developments over the course of the series of books. The series began with A is for Alibi in 1982, and the continuity of the relationships and events in the novels has progressed in a compressed period of time — in other words, although the events of the first book were set in 1982, by the time of the later books in the “alphabet” series, which have been published in the 2010s, the events are still set back in the 1990s.

Sue Grafton passed away in 2017, having reached only “Y” in her Kinsey Millhone series — and in a statement to verify that there would never be a ghost-written “Z” entry, Grafton’s family specified “as far as we’re concerned, the alphabet now ends at ‘Y'”.

The authors listed below write works in a similar style. The author names are hotlinked to their holdings in our catalog, so that you may check on the availability of their titles in print or audio formats.

Sarah Andrews
Noreen Ayres
Linda Barnes
Nevada Barr
K. K. Beck
Carol Lea Benjamin
Carol Higgins Clark
Susan Conant
Catherine Dain
Janet Dawson
Susan Dunlap
Janet Evanovich
Katherine Forrest
Alison Gordon
Linda Grant
Jean Hager
Sue Henry
Marne Davis Kellogg
Karen Kijewski
Laura Lippman
G.A. McKevett
Marlys Millhiser
Marcia Muller
Maxine O’Callaghan
Sara Paretsky
Sandra West Prowell
Gillian Roberts
Julie Smith
Dana Stabenow
Judith Van Gieson
Sharon Zukowski

This list last updated November 2005 – mg / June 2021 sdc