Link to our Facebook Page
Link to our Twitter Page
Link to our Pinterest Page
Link to our Instagram Page
Link to our Youtube Page

The Woman in the Window

If You Like “The Woman in the Window”…
Try These Authors/Titles

womaninthewindowA.J. Finn’s 2018 novel, The Woman in the Window, was a major bestseller, and received mostly positive reviews. Anna Fox is a child psychologist who suffered some sort of trauma 10 months ago and now suffers from agoraphobia — the inability to deal with open spaces and unknown areas. She lives in a New York City 4-story brownstone, with a hardly-ever-seen rental tenant living in her basement. Her husband and young daughter are gone, but she talks to them on the phone regularly. She passes her time by sharing advice on an agoraphobe chat website online, has everything she needs delivered to her home for her, and spies on the neighbors she can see from her windows. She also drinks LOTS of wine (particularly Merlot), and self-medicates for her condition. When a new family moves in across the way, and each of its members – father, mother and teenage son – comes to visit her, she soon finds herself watching them through their windows. When she sees a crime occur while under the influence of drugs and alcohol, no-one believes her unlikely eyewitness account – she even finds herself questioning what she believes she saw — did it really happen, or are the pills and wine combining with her trauma-induced agoraphobia to make her hallucinate. The last 100 pages of the book feature multiple shocking twists. The primary stylistic element of The Woman in the Window is the “unreliable narrator” — can you, as reader, trust what the person telling the story is actually saying? This is a first novel by author Daniel Mallory, who wrote under the pseudonym A.J. Finn — he has a second novel coming out later in 2019. The Woman in the Window has been adapted into a feature film, starring Amy Adams as Anna, which will be released in theaters in October 2019.

The following books share similar traits with The Woman in the Window, either in terms of plot, tone or style. None are exactly note-for-note like Finn’s novel — but if you liked The Woman in the Window, you may appreciate many of the other books on this list! The author names (and titles) in the list below are hotlinked to their holdings in our catalog, so that you may check on the availability of their titles in print, audio or downloadable formats.

Readalikes to “The Woman in the Window” (alphabetical order by author)

dare meThe Wife
and other titles by Alafair Burke


dare meShe Was the Quiet One
and other titles by Michele Campbell


dare meNeed to Know
and other titles by Karen Cleveland


dare meI Know My Name
and other titles by C.J. Cooke


dare meDead Girl Running
and other titles by Christina Dodd


dare meIf You Knew Her
and other titles by Emily Elgar


dare meIf I Die Tonight
and other titles by Alison Gaylin


dare meThe Other Mother
and other titles by Carol Goodman


dare meIn a Cottage in a Wood
and other titles by Cass Green


dare meThe Wife Between Us
and other titles by Greer Hendricks


dare meThe Sister
and other titles by Louise Jensen


dare meThe Other Woman
and other titles by Sandie Jones


dare meProvidence
and other titles by Caroline Kepnes


dare meThe Innocent Wife
and other titles by Amy Lloyd


dare meBehind Closed Doors
and other titles by B.A. Paris


dare meBehind Her Eyes
and other titles by Sarah Pinborough


dare meThe Last Time I Lied
and other titles by Riley Sager


dare meThe Perfect Nanny
and other titles by Leila Slimarni


dare meThe Cabin at the End of the World
and other titles by Paul Tremblay


dare meThe Chalk Man
and other titles by C.J. Tudor


dare meThe Woman in Cabin 10
and other titles by Ruth Ware


dare meBefore I Go to Sleep
and other titles by S.J. Watson


A few similar titles that are not currently in the Lincoln City Libraries’ collection:

  • Perfect Remains by Helen Fields
  • Give Him Back by B.M. Hardin
  • It All Falls Down by Sheena Kamal
  • The Girl in the Woods by Camilla Lackberg
  • Hysteria by Elizabeth de Mariaffi
  • The Sleeping Lady by Bonnie C. Monty
  • Tips for Living by Renee Shafransky

last updated February 2019 sdc