Link to our Facebook Page
Link to our Twitter Page
Link to our Pinterest Page
Link to our Instagram Page
Link to our Youtube Page

Lincoln Journal Star Book Reviews

bgsundayam3

ljsEvery Saturday and Sunday morning issue of the Lincoln Journal Star newspaper includes the “The (402) 411” section. Included in that section of the paper each week are regular author profiles and book reviews, by both local reviewers and national review services. Due to the regular popularity of the titles reviewed in the paper, we’ve designed this page of the Lincoln City Libraries’ Web site as a simple listing of the books recently reviewed in the Lincoln Journal Star, with links into the library’s holdings for all the listed books which are currently in the collection. If a title below is not hotlinked, this is an indication that the library does not currently own that book, but you may consider requesting the title through the services of our Interlibrary Loan department, or suggesting that we purchase it via our on-line Suggest-a-Title form.

Note: Although the Lincoln Journal Star is reviewing fewer books in the print edition of the paper, they are including many more syndicated book reviews (from outside sources) on their website. This index on BookGuide is primarily to the reviews that have appeared in the print edition of the Lincoln Journal Star newspaper — UPDATE: Starting in May 2019, we now also provide a list of the titles reviewed by the LJS only on their website as well.

nebauthormini — Book by a Nebraska author

last updated March 22, 2020

2020 Selections

Books reviewed in March

No local book review appeared in the physical March 22, 2020 issue of the paper.


Between the Sundays: Syndicated book reviews published by the Journal Star only on their website (March 16-21):


The City Game: Triumph, Scandal, and a Legendary Basketball Team
by Matthew Goodman

Non-Fiction – [ On Order ]

Between the Sundays: Syndicated book reviews published by the Journal Star only on their website (March 9-14):


No local book review appeared in the physical March 8, 2020 issue of the paper.


Between the Sundays: Syndicated book reviews published by the Journal Star only on their website (March 2-7):


Canyon Dreams: A Basketball Season on the Navajo Nation
by Michael Powell

Non-Fiction – [ On Order ]

Books reviewed in February

Between the Sundays: Syndicated book reviews published by the Journal Star only on their website (February 24-29):


Sam Houston and the Alamo Avengers: The Texas Victory That Changed American History
by Elaine Sciolino

Non-Fiction – 944.36 Sci


Between the Sundays: Syndicated book reviews published by the Journal Star only on their website (February 17-22):


The Seine: The River That Made Paris
by Brian Kilmeade

Non-Fiction – 976.4 Kil


Between the Sundays: Syndicated book reviews published by the Journal Star only on their website (February 10-15):

  • Salt River by Randy Wayne White
  • You Can Only Yell at Me For One Thing at a Time by Roz Chast and Patricia Marx
  • Night Theater by Dr. Vikram Paralkar
  • Chanel’s Riviera by Anne DeCourey
  • In the Land of Men: A Memoir by Adrienne Miller
  • Love, Unscripted by Owen Nicholls
  • Been There, Married That by Gigi Levangie
  • All the Best Lies by Joanna Schauffhausen
  • The Burn by Kathleen Kent
  • Dead to Her by Sarah Pinsborough
  • The Only Child by Mi-ae Seo
  • Nobody Does It Better: The Complete Uncensored, Unauthorized Oral History of James Bond edited by Marl Altman and Edward Gross

No local book review appeared in the physical February 9, 2020 issue of the paper.


Between the Sundays: Syndicated book reviews published by the Journal Star only on their website (February 3-8):


No local book review appeared in the physical February 2, 2020 issue of the paper.


Between the Sundays: Syndicated book reviews published by the Journal Star only on their website (January 27 – Feb 1):


Books reviewed in January

Naked Came the Florida Man
by Tim Dorsey

Fiction – Dorsey

Between the Sundays: Syndicated book reviews published by the Journal Star only on their website (January 20-25):


Why We Can’t Sleep
by Ada Calhoun

Non-Fiction – Hoopla ebook only


The Seine: The River That Made Paris
by Elaine Sciolino

Non-Fiction – 944.36 Sci


Bone Chalk
by Jim Reese

Fiction [ not currently in the Lincoln City Libraries’ collection ]

Between the Sundays: Syndicated book reviews published by the Journal Star only on their website (January 13-18):


No local book review appeared in the physical January 12, 2020 issue of the paper.


Between the Sundays: Syndicated book reviews published by the Journal Star only on their website (January 6-11):


No local book review appeared in the physical January 5, 2020 issue of the paper.


Between the Sundays: Syndicated book reviews published by the Journal Star only on their website (December 30 – January 4):


Past Years: 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004

nebauthormini — Book by a Nebraska author

bgbottombanner1000

Save

Save